October 22, 2021


Welcome to Sport gist blog

Mason Mount and Edouard Mendy miss out as no Chelsea players make PFA team of the year

Chelsea have no representatives in the PFA Premier League team of the year as the two Manchester clubs dominate the 2020/21 selection.

Thomas Tuchel’s side finished in fourth place this season having at one point been as low as ninth in the standings when Roman Abramovich pulled the trigger and sacked Frank Lampard as manager, replacing him with the German.

Tuchel, who has signed a new two-year contract with Chelsea, got his team into the top four, somewhat stuttering over the line in the end and taking it down to the final day, not long after a defeat to Leicester City in the FA Cup final.

But the Champions League trophy was secured on another famous night in Europe for the Blues as they beat Man City 1-0 in Porto to secure a second European crown.

Chelsea’s turnaround in the league from late January through until May has not seen any of their players selected in the PFA team though,

despite impressive performances from the likes of Mason Mount, Edouard Mendy and N’Golo Kante.

Unsurprisingly, the PFA team of the year is dominated by Pep Guardiola’s title-winning City side, who have six players in the eleven.

Manchester United duo Luke Shaw and Bruno Fernandes are also included, as well as Spurs pair Harry Kane and Son Heung-Min.

Liverpool have one sole representative in their team, Mo Salah, who ended the campaign on 22 goals for the Reds which was one behind the Golden Boot winner in Kane.

Edouard Mendy’s 16 Premier League clean sheets wasn’t enough to get him the nod in goal for the PFA team as Man City’s Ederson was selected ahead of the Chelsea stopper.

Mason Mount’s fine season wasn’t rewarded with a place either as City pair Kevin De Bruyne and Ilkay Gundogan were included at his expense.

Not that Mount will care too much as he lifted the Champions League trophy instead.